AMA Delegates

AMA delegates and alternate delegates represent the positions of the MMA and help develop AMA policies on national health care issues. Elected by the MMA membership, they attend the AMA Annual Meeting and Interim Meeting. No officer or trustee, except the president-elect, president or immediate past president, may serve as an AMA delegate or alternate delegate.



Cindy Firkins Smith, MD
Dermatology, Willmar

John Abenstein, MD, MSEE
Anesthesiology, Rochester

Dennis O'Hare, MD
Geriatrics & Family Medicine, St. Paul

David Thorson, MD
Family Medicine, White Bear Lake

Andrea Hillerud, MD
Family Medicine, St. Paul

Alternate Delegates

Lisa Mattson, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology, Plymouth

George Morris, MD
Family Medicine, Saint Cloud

Ashok Patel, MD
Pulmonology, Rochester

Laurel Ries, MD
Family Medicine, St. Paul