Two Metro Area Physicians Receive Awards

Two local physicians were recognized for their outstanding work by the Twin Cities Medical Society (TCMS) and its foundation.

Macaran Baird, MD, received the 2018 Shotwell Award on Jan. 8. Chris Johnson, MD, chair of the TCMS Foundation, presented the award to Baird at the annual meeting of the Abbott Northwestern Medical Staff. Before he retired in December 2017, Baird served as professor and head of the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health at the University of Minnesota Medical School.
Macaran Baird, MD, (left) receives the Shotwell Award from TCMS Foundation Chair Chris Johnson, MD. 

The Shotwell Award is presented annually to a person within the state of Minnesota who has made significant contributions in the field of health care. It was established by Metropolitan Medical Center in 1971 in recognition of the support and dedication of the Shotwell Family. Upon the closing of Metropolitan-Mount Sinai Medical Center in 1991, the West Metro Medical Society/Foundation assumed responsibility for selecting the recipient of the Shotwell Award. Abbott Northwestern Hospital and Medical Staff has generously provided funding for the award since 2003.  

Nancy Guttormson, MD, was awarded the 2018 TCMS’s First a Physician Award.   

The award was established in 2007 by TCMS to recognize a member who selflessly gives of his/her time and energy to improve the health of their patients, has made a positive impact on organized medicine and the medical community’s ability to practice medicine, and/or has been instrumental in improving the lives of others in the community.

Guttorsom is recognized as a highly skilled head and neck endocrine surgeon, as well as breast surgeon by her colleagues at Fairview Ridges Hospital. She is also a respected leader and teacher. She is credited with pioneering the thyroid cancer program and helped to establish the Breast Center at Fairview Ridges Hospital, as well as a multidisciplinary tumor board.