Senate Select Committee to Study Health Care Costs & Access

In its first meeting on July 12, the Senate Select Committee on Health Care Consumer Access and Affordability heard presentations from the Minnesota Department of Health, the Department of Commerce, the Department of Human Services, and Minnesota Management and Budget, offering committee members an overview of health care utilization, access and spending across the state.  

The select committee was formed by Senate leadership, and is chaired by Sen. Scott Jensen (R – Chaska), a family physician. Jensen is joined by Sen. Matt Klein (DFL – Mendota Heights), a hospitalist who practices at Hennepin County Medical Center. 

The group will meet regularly between now and the start of the next legislative session in late February 2018. The committee is expected to make recommendations to the Legislature focused upon health care utilization, costs, tools for patients to make health care decisions, as well as strategies to reduce geographic differences in access to primary care.

Other members of the committee include Sens. Julie Rosen (R – Vernon Center), Melissa Wiklund (DFL – Bloomington), Rich Draheim (R – Madison Lake), Mary Kiffmeyer (R – Big Lake), Eric Pratt (R – Prior Lake), Nick Frentz (DFL – Mankato) and Dan Sparks (DFL – Austin).