Nominations Now Open for 2018 MMA Annual Awards

Members are encouraged to nominate their peers, medical students and advocacy champions for one of MMA’s four annual awards. Visit the MMA website to make a nomination by June 29.

Award categories include: 

Distinguished Service Award - Given to a physician who has made outstanding contributions in service to the MMA and on behalf of medicine and the physicians of Minnesota during his or her career.

President's Award - Designated for individuals who have made outstanding contributions in service to the goals of the MMA.  

Medical Student Leadership Award – Presented to a member of the MMA Medical Student Section who demonstrates outstanding commitment to the medical profession.

James H. Sova Memorial Award for Advocacy – Given to a person who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of public policy, medical sciences, medical education, medical care or the socio-economics of medical practice. Sova was the chief lobbyist for the MMA from 1968 until the time of his death at the AMA meeting in December 1981.   

Awards will be given out at this year’s Annual Conference on Sept. 21-22 in St. Paul.