New Medication Prior Authorization Bills Introduced in St. Paul

New bills (HF 747/SF 593) addressing medication prior authorization reform were introduced Feb. 2 in the state House and Senate.

The bills focus on:
  • improving communication during the enrollment process so that enrollees know exactly what medications are covered and what their cost-sharing obligations will be
  • requiring any formulary change to be communicated to prescribers and enrollees at least 60 days prior to the change
  • prohibiting plans from withdrawing coverage for a drug a patient is on during the patient’s enrollment year.

The Senate authors are Sen. Carla Nelson (R-Rochester), Sen. Melisa Franzen (DFL-Edina), Sen. Julie Rosen (R-Vernon Center), Sen. Michelle Fischbach (R-Paynesville) and Sen. Michelle Benson (R-Ham Lake).  
The House authors are Rep. Rod Hamilton (R-Mountain Lake), Nick Zerwas (R-Elk River), Matt Dean (R-Dellwood), Dave Baker (R-Willmar), Tony Albright (R-Prior Lake), Erin Murphy (DFL-St. Paul), Tina Liebling (DFL-Rochester), Glenn Gruenhagen (R-Glencoe), Roz Peterson (R-Lakeville) and Bob Loonan (R-Shakopee).

“Given the shift in power in St. Paul we decided it best to focus on the parts of our original bill that ensure patients get the medications they need in a timely manner,” said Dave Renner, the MMA’s director of state and federal legislation. “Physicians across the state want us to help reduce administrative burdens and this legislation will definitely do that. This remains a top priority for the MMA.”