Resident/Fellow Section

The Resident and Fellow Section of the Minnesota Medical Association is open to any physician in an accredited residency or postgraduate fellow program in Minnesota who is a member of the MMA and local component medical society.

The purpose of this section is to give resident physicians a greater opportunity to participate in the Minnesota Medical Association and a more direct role in MMA policy deliberations.

The Governing Council of the RFS consists of the officers of the section, the resident member of the MMA Board of Trustees, and four members-at-large, elected at the annual business meeting of the section.           

MMA Membership
Do we have your information? Residents and fellows get a FREE MMA membership! If you are not receiving our weekly newsletter or the bi-monthly award-winning Minnesota Medicine Digital Edition please contact us

Share your experiences and gain valuable insight from peers during networking events. Join the MMA-RFS group on Facebook.


Leadership Positions for Residents/Fellows

2018-19 MMA-RFS Leadership

Executive Committee
Chair: Christopher Wee, MD
Immediate past Vice Co-Chairs: Jesus Vera Aguilera, MD & Sajan Nagpal, MD
Vice Chair: Steven Skube, MD
Board of Trustees Representative: Courtney Harris, MD
Secretary: Bryan Neth, MD
Outreach Coordinator: Amanda Day, DO
Policy Council Representative: Timothy Dempsey, MD
AMA Delegate: Maria Arciniegas Calle, MD
AMA Alternate Delegate: Michael Megaly, MD

Committee Representatives

Public Health
Delegate: Allison Ducharme-Smith, MD
Alternate: Sharon Li, MD

Medical Practice & Quality
Delegate: David Routman, MD
Alternate: Joe MacDonald, MD

Ethics & Medical-Legal Affairs
Delegate: Hannnah Giunta, MD
Alternate: Justin Penny, DO

Membership & Communications
Delegate: Open
Alternate: Open

*If interested, contact Scott Wilson.

The business meetings of the Resident and Fellow Section are open to all resident physicians. The purpose of the business meetings is to:
  • Review reports
  • Consider and vote upon matters that come before the meeting.
  • Elect a chairperson-elect, the resident member of the MMA Board of Trustees, delegate, alternate delegate and four members-at-large of the Governing Council.
  • Elect the allotted number of delegates to the Interim and Annual Meetings of the AMA/RFS.
For more information regarding the Resident and Fellow Section, contact Scott Wilson at 612-362-3748.

Meeting Minutes

Other Links

"I belong to the Minnesota Medical Association because I believe it is important for young physicians to have an active voice in organized medicine as it constantly evolves and changes.” - Courtney Harris, MD