Virtual Awards Ceremony 

This year's award ceremony will be held virtually. Starting Monday. September 20 you will have the opportunity to view the award recipient videos. Each day at 10am a new awardee will be announced.

Distinguished Service Award

  • This award is the MMA's highest honor. It is given to a physician who has made outstanding contributions in service to the MMA and on behalf of medicine and the physicians of Minnesota during their career.

President's Award

  • This award is designated for individuals who have made outstanding contributions in service to the goals of the MMA - making Minnesotans the healthiest in the nation; and making Minnesota the best place to practice.   

Medical Student/Resident & Fellow Leadership Awards

  • These awards honor members of the MMA Medical Student and Resident & Fellow Sections who demonstrate outstanding commitment to the medical profession.


COPIC/MMA Foundation Humanitarian Award

  • This award is presented each year to honor a physician for volunteer medical services and contributions to their community, specifically to MMA members who go above and beyond to help address the health care needs of underserved populations in Minnesota. The recipient of the award designates a $10,000 donation from COPIC to be provided to a health care-related 501(c)(3) organization within Minnesota.  

Eric C. Dick Memorial Health Policy Partner Award 

  • This award shall be given to an individual, group of individuals, a project or an organization that demonstrates their commitment to pursuing sound public policy, building coalitions, creating and/or strengthening partnerships with the goal of improving the health of Minnesotans or the practice of medicine in Minnesota. Dick was the MMA's manager of state legislative affairs from 2010 until his untimely death in January 2021. (See video below)

James H. Sova Memorial Award for Advocacy

  • James H. Sova was the chief lobbyist for the MMA from 1968 until the time of his death at the AMA meeting in December1981. This award shall be made to a person who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of public policy, medical sciences, medical education, medical care or the socio-economics of medical practice.