Policy Council

At the 2013 MMA Annual Meeting, the House of Delegates voted to form the new Policy Council, which provides a representative mechanism and simplified process for obtaining broad member input, feedback and ideas on critical health policy issues facing Minnesota physicians. Recommendations of the Policy Council shall be submitted to the MMA Board of Trustees for consideration.

NEW - Policy Council Infographic "Your MMA, Your Voice"



The Policy Council is comprised of 40 members, none of whom can be MMA committee chairs or MMA Board of Trustees members at the time of their appointment to the Policy Council. The Council Chair will be elected from among Council members.

MMA Policy Council – Member Roster (Current as of 6/28/2019)

Twin Cities Medical Society (14)

Christy Boraas Alsleben, MD, MPH
Nicole Chaisson, MD
Bruce Gregoire (medical student)
Osama Ibrahim, MD
Lisa Mattson, MD (Chair)
Thomas Mulrooney, MD
Anne Pereira, MD
Spencer Pruitt, MD
Christopher Reif, MD
Frank Rhame, MD
Caleb Schultz, MD
Jennifer Tessmer-Tuck, MD
Rebecca Thoman, MD
Craig Walvatne, MD

Zumbro Valley Medical Society (10)
Peter Amadio, MD
Suliman El-Amin, MD
Randy Hemann, MD
Sheila Jowsey-Gregoire, MD
Ariela Marshall, MD
Ashok Patel, MD
Noel Peterson, MD
Neel Shah, MBChB
Niloufar  Tabatabaei, MD
Kristene Tadese (medical student)

Stearns Benton Medical Society (2)
Andrea Joplin, MD  
Kim Tjaden, MD

Resident Fellow Section (1)
Timothy Dempsey

Medical Student Section (1)
Jennifer Dens Higano
Adrine Kocharian (MSS alternate)

MMA President-Elect (1)
Keith Stelter, MD

At-Large (9) (appointed by MMA Board of Trustees)
Amy Boles, MD
Joshua J. Crabtree, MD, MBA
Britt Ehlert, MD
Robert Koshnick, MD
Ahmed Pasha, MD
Lynne Steiner, MD
Verna Thornton, MD

Upcoming Meetings

  • Tuesday, August 27, 2019 (6-8PM)
  • Monday, October 21, 2019 (6-8PM)

Meeting Archives

May 1, 2019 March 14, 2019 January 26, 2019 October 25, 2018
August 27, 2018
May 2, 2018

March 6, 2018

January 20, 2018

October 24, 2017

August 16, 2017
June 20, 2017
6-8 pm at MMA
May 1, 2017
6-8 pm at MMA
February 18, 2017
8:30-11:30 am at MMA
November 1, 2016
6-8 pm at Amherst Wilder Foundation
August 15, 2016
6-8 pm at MMA
April 26, 2016
6-8 pm at MMA

January 23, 2016
8:30 am – 12:00 noon, at MMA

October 14, 2015

5:00-8:00 pm at Midland Hills Country Club, Roseville

August 25, 2015

6:00-8:00 pm at MMA

May 20, 2015

5:30-8:00 pm at Midland Hills Country Club, Roseville

January 10, 2015

October 8, 2014

September 20, 2014

August 26, 2014

April 26, 2014

Terms of Office

Each Policy Council member is eligible to serve for a term of three years, beginning at the conclusion of the MMA Annual Meeting. Terms for initial Council appointees shall begin as soon as appointments are completed and end no later than the 2016 MMA Annual Meeting. Terms will be arranged so that, as nearly as possible, one-third of members shall be appointed each year. Each member may serve no more than two complete, consecutive terms. Section members must be eligible members of their section during their term on the Council. No alternate or proxy members shall be appointed to the Council. In the event of a resignation or death, the appointing authority shall be notified and a new appointment shall be made.

Council appointments are the responsibility of the component medical societies, sections or MMA board. Appointing authorities will be encouraged to appoint members who: are able to commit to serving their entire term; will work to attend and prepare for all Council meetings; are actively engaged in medical practice; and can represent the diversity of MMA membership in terms of age, gender, race/ethnicity, geography, specialty and practice size/type.

The term of office of the Policy Council chair shall be one year, with a maximum of three terms.

Council Members on the Board of Trustees

The Council shall elect one member to serve as a full-voting member of the MMA board. The Council member of the board may be recognized in meeting any geographic membership requirements associated with the board of trustees and shall be counted as part of the total board size. The term of office on the board shall be three years, limited to one term. Physicians who have previously served a maximum nine-year term on the board are not eligible to serve as Council representatives to the board.

Meetings and Member Forums

The Policy Council shall meet no less than two times a year.

The Policy Council will convene an Open Issues Forum during the MMA Annual Meeting for the consideration of new issues or ideas. Issues or ideas submitted by component medical societies, state specialty societies, MMA sections, MMA committees or the MMA Board of Trustees shall be considered by the Policy Council. Staff and members of the Policy Council may review submitted comments or ideas to help further organize and refine the forums.

For more information

Staff Contact
Andrea Stoesz (612) 362-3745
Health Policy Analyst