TCMS Names Officers, Award Winner at Annual Meeting

[MMA News Now, Jan. 16, 2014] At its Jan. 14 Annual Meeting in St. Paul, the Twin Cities Medical Society (TCMS) inaugurated its 2014 officers including its new president Lisa Mattson, M.D. TCMS also presented its “First a Physician” award to Sanne Magnan, M.D., Ph.D., president and CEO of the Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement (ICSI).

New TCMS President Lisa Mattson, M.D.,
(left) is congratulated by MMA President
Cindy Firkins Smith, M.D.

Mattson, an OB/GYN, is currently director of Women’s Clinic at Boynton Health Service, University of Minnesota. As president she will serve on the TCMS’ 2014 executive committee along with: Ken Kephart, M.D., president-elect; Edwin Bogonko, M.D., immediate past president; Matthew Hunt, M.D. , treasurer; Carolyn McClain, M.D., secretary; Nicholas Meyer, M.D. , at-large director; and Stefan Pomrenke, M.D., at-large director.

The “First a Physician” Award, established in 2007, recognizes a TCMS member who has made a positive impact on organized medicine by selflessly giving of his/her time and energy to improve the public health, enhance the medical community’s ability to practice quality medicine, and/or improve the lives of others in our community.

In addition to her duties at ICSI, Magnan serves as staff physician at the TB Clinic at the St. Paul Ramsey County Department of Health, and as a clinical assistant professor of medicine at University of Minnesota. She is a former vice-president and medical director of consumer health at BlueCross Blue Shield of Minnesota, was a lead physician at Ramsey Clinic (now Ramsey Hospital), and was a staff physician at Lino Lakes Correctional Facility. In 2008, Gov. Tim Pawlenty appointed Magnan as Commissioner of Health where she was responsible for implementation of significant components of Minnesota’s 2008 health reform legislation. She served as commissioner for three years, ending her term in 2011.

Number of views (1377)/Comments (0)


Leave a comment

Enter the code shown above in the box below
Add comment
Bookmark and Share

1300 Godward St. NE, Suite 2500, Minneapolis, MN 55413 | Phone: (612) 378-1875 | Fax: (612) 378-3875 | mma@mnmed.org
Copyright 2014 Minnesota Medical Association
Find MMA on:                 
Home |  Membership |  About MMA |  Legislation |  Key Issues |  Publications |  Events and Services |  Site Map |  Contact Us |  Advertising |  Privacy .