MMA Awards Presented to Five Members

[MMA News Now, Sept. 26, 2013] The MMA recognized five of its members with its annual awards at this year’s Annual Meeting on Sept. 20-21 at the Minneapolis Marriott Northwest in Brooklyn Park.
Those recognized included:

Distinguished Service Award
The MMA’s highest honor goes to a physician who has made outstanding contributions to medicine and the MMA during his or her career. This year, the MMA’s Distinguished Service Award went to Macaran Baird, M.D., who has been head of the department of the Family Medicine and Community Health at the University of Minnesota since 2002. Baird began his career 35 years ago as a family physician in rural Minnesota. He has been active with the MMA since 1986, attending Day at the Capitol regularly and serving on a number of committees. One colleague noted that Baird “is a special leader who works to help the underserved and disadvantaged and is someone who is always willing to help with no strings attached.”

President’s Award
The MMA’s President’s Award went to two individuals this year: Erick Reeber, M.D., a 53-year veteran of the MMA who practiced family medicine out of his home in Bagley for more than 40 years. During his tenure with the MMA, he has been a board member, treasurer and an active committee member. He has served on a number of MMA committees including ethics and medical-legal affairs; quality; and health care access, financing and delivery. He currently serves on the Committee on Administration and Finance.

Fred Nobrega, M.D., was recognized for his longstanding service to medicine as executive director of the Zumbro Valley Medical Society. He will step down from the post in October after serving for 13 years. In addition to his work with Zumbro Valley, he served as chair of Citizens for a Smoke-Free Rochester and as a member of the Olmsted County Community Health Advisory Committee. He opposed construction of a tire-burning facility in Preston and helped pass Olmsted County’s ban on smoking in the workplace. Nobrega retired from the Mayo Clinic, where he specialized in preventive medicine. 

Patrick Zook, M.D., accepts the MMA Foundation's
Community Service Award while Immediate
Past President Dan Maddox, M.D., looks on.

Community Service Award
Similar to the President’s Award, two individuals were honored with this year’s Community Service Award, which were presented by the MMA Foundation:
Patrick Zook, M.D., who is leading the fight against pertussis in central Minnesota. In his role as the Stearns Benton Medical Society President, Zook has built a coalition of community partners to combat the rise of the disease. The St. Cloud area "Circle of Health" includes representatives from public health, area pharmacies, nursing, schools, as well as civic and business leaders. The Circle of Health, under his leadership, received a grant from the CentraCare Foundation to provide free Tdap immunizations to the community. 

Brian Sick, M.D., who since 2007, has volunteered as medical director for the Phillips Neighborhood Clinic in Minneapolis. In this capacity, he oversees medical students, who run the clinic. The clinic’s mission is to provide free health care to underserved patients and to educate students on helping the population in an inter-professional environment. Each year, the clinic serves more than 1,100 patients.

Number of views (1678)/Comments (0)


Leave a comment

Enter the code shown above in the box below
Add comment
Bookmark and Share

1300 Godward St. NE, Suite 2500, Minneapolis, MN 55413 | Phone: (612) 378-1875 | Fax: (612) 378-3875 | mma@mnmed.org
Copyright 2014 Minnesota Medical Association
Find MMA on:                 
Home |  Membership |  About MMA |  Legislation |  Key Issues |  Publications |  Events and Services |  Site Map |  Contact Us |  Advertising |  Privacy .