Student Receives Medical Award

[MMA News Now, Feb. 13, 2014] Fourth-year medical student Mark Bergstrand received the 2013 Medical Student Leadership Award at the Feb. 8 meeting of the MMA’s Medical Student Section.

Bergstrand, a student at the University of Minnesota Medical School, Duluth campus, was nominated by Drs. Ruth Westra, D.O., MPH, chair of the department of family medicine and community health Duluth, and Ray Christensen, M.D., associate dean for rural health.

Student leaders include Sagar Chawla (left),
award winner Mark Bergstrand, and
Dane Thompson.

The nomination cited Bergstrand’s involvement as president of the Honor Council, LCME Student Review Committee student member, AMA Duluth Chapter president and chair of the MMA’s Medical Student Section.

Bergstrand comes from a family of physicians. He and his wife, Maria, will both graduate from the University of Minnesota Medical School in 2014. His sister is also enrolled at the University of Minnesota Medical School, Duluth campus. Their father, Paul Bergstrand, M.D., is a family physician in Alexandria. The entire family was featured in “A family tradition” in the January 2014 edition of Minnesota Medicine.

The Medical Student Leadership Award has been presented annually by the MMA Foundation since 2003.

Number of views (807)/Comments (0)


Leave a comment

Enter the code shown above in the box below
Add comment
Bookmark and Share

1300 Godward St. NE, Suite 2500, Minneapolis, MN 55413 | Phone: (612) 378-1875 | Fax: (612) 378-3875 | mma@mnmed.org
Copyright 2014 Minnesota Medical Association
Find MMA on:                 
Home |  Membership |  About MMA |  Legislation |  Key Issues |  Publications |  Events and Services |  Site Map |  Contact Us |  Advertising |  Privacy .