To set up an interview with MMA leaders or to request information about health care issues call or email Dan Hauser at 612-362-3726 (office) or 952-807-3178 (cell).

2015 Press Releases

2014 Press Releases

2013 Press Releases

2012 Press Releases

2011 Press Releases


MMA Leaders

To download pictures for print, right click on the picture and select "save target as."
David C. Thorson, M.D. President
Thorson is a board certified family physician with a CAQ in sports medicine who practices at Entira Family Clinics in White Bear Lake.

David Agerter, M.D President-Elect
Agerter is a family medicine physician with Mayo Clinic Health System-Austin.

Donald Jacobs, M.D., F.A.C.S. Immediate
Jacobs recently retired as the chief of clinical operations for the Hennepin Healthcare System in Minneapolis.

Douglas Wood, M.D. Chair, Board of Trustees
Wood is the medical director for Mayo Clinic's Center for Innovation.

Robert K. Meiches, M.D. CEO
Meiches, a Minneapolis physician who specializes in internal medicine and geriatrics, served as chair of the MMA Board of Trustees from 1999 to 2002.

Keith Stelter, M.D. Secretary/Treasurer
Stelter is a family physician at Mayo Clinic Health System-Eastridge in Mankato.

MMA Publications
Minnesota Medicine
MMA News Now

Downloadable MMA Logos HiRes LoRes

MMA Fast Facts
  • The Minnesota Medical Association is a non-profit professional association representing 10,000 physicians, residents and medical students.
  • The association was founded in 1853 as the Minnesota Medical Society. In 1869, the Minnesota Medical Society reorganized as the Minnesota State Medical Society. Then, in 1903, the Minnesota State Medical Society changed its name to the Minnesota Medical Association.
  • In 1958, the MMA created a charitable foundation that focuses primarily on supporting the next generation of physicians with student loans.
  • The MMA launched the journal Minnesota Medicine in 1918.
  • The MMA successfully pushed for Minnesota’s Clean Indoor Air Act in 1975. It’s the first such law in the nation. In 2007, the MMA achieved its top public health priority with the passage of the Freedom to Breathe Act, which prohibits smoking in restaurants and bars.
  • The MMA advocated for the passage of the primary seat belt law in 2009. As a result, the state saved $45 million in avoided hospital costs and experienced 68 fewer deaths between 2009 and 2011.
  • Three members of the Mayo family have served as president: Two brothers (William James and Charles Horace) and their father (William Worrall).
1300 Godward St. NE, Suite 2500, Minneapolis, MN 55413 | Phone: (612) 378-1875 | Fax: (612) 378-3875 | mma@mnmed.org
Copyright 2014 Minnesota Medical Association
Find MMA on:                 
Home |  Membership |  About MMA |  Legislation |  Key Issues |  Publications |  Events and Services |  Site Map |  Contact Us |  Advertising |  Privacy .