MMA/MMA Foundation Awards

Award Entry Rules

Each year the MMA and the MMA Foundation honor physicians and medical students in the state who have made outstanding contributions to their profession, their practice, or the world around them. Read more about the MMA/MMAF Awards.

To nominate someone for an award, please fill out the nomination form online or print and mail it in.

Community Service Award

Honors a physician who has demonstrated an outstanding record of community service beyond the practice of medicine. Candidates are MMA members who have done such things as helped make free medical care available to the needy, served as public officials, coached an athletic team, promoted cultural or arts activities, or lead efforts to expand voluntary health programs.


Medical Student Leadership Award

Honors a medical student who shows a commitment to the profession’s ideals; demonstrates leadership skills; and initiates or participates in service activities for the profession or the broader community. Candidates must be current members and active participants in the MMA Medical Student Section.


Leadership in Quality Award

Recognizes a Minnesota physician who has demonstrated leadership in advancing quality and safety in health care. Candidates are MMA members who are involved in activities such as incorporating evidence-based medicine into practice, adopting an electronic medical record system, implementing patient-safety activities, educating patients to improve health literacy, or using data to improve practice or who have participated in statewide initiatives to improve quality and safety.


Minority Affairs Meritorious Service Award

Recognizes a Minnesota physician who has worked to improve medical care for one or more minority populations. Candidates must be MMA members who have sought to improve access to care, eliminate racial barriers to care, address health disparities, understand the health concerns of minority patients or worked to encourage members of communities underrepresented in medicine to pursue careers as physicians.


Excellence in Medical Journalism Award

Entries are limited to print, online and broadcast jour­nal­ists. No member of the MMA is eligible. Only material originating in Minnesota that has been published will be eligible. (For more information on what to submit along with the nomination form and judging criteria, go to award rules.)


Please contact Sandy Nentwig at 612-362-3755 if you have questions.

1300 Godward St. NE, Suite 2500, Minneapolis, MN 55413 | Phone: (612) 378-1875 | Fax: (612) 378-3875 | mma@mnmed.org
Copyright 2014 Minnesota Medical Association
Find MMA on:                 
Home |  Membership |  About MMA |  Legislation |  Key Issues |  Publications |  Events and Services |  Site Map |  Contact Us |  Advertising |  Privacy .