At the 2013 MMA Annual Meeting, the House of Delegates voted to form the new Policy Council, which provides a representative mechanism and simplified process for obtaining broad member input, feedback and ideas on critical health policy issues facing Minnesota physicians. Recommendations of the Policy Council shall be submitted to the MMA Board of Trustees for consideration.


The Policy Council is comprised of 40 members, none of whom can be MMA committee chairs or MMA Board of Trustees members at the time of their appointment to the Policy Council. The Council Chair will be elected from among Council members.

See 2014 submitted issues.

Twin Cities Medical Society Appointees

Leah Anderson (medical student)
Stuart Cameron, MD
Ramnik Dhaliwal, MD (resident)
Mark Eggen, MD
Alexander Feng (medical student)
Jessica Heiring, MD
Evan James (medical student)
Chris Johnson, MD
Ken Kephart, MD
Lisa Mattson, MD
Christopher Reif, MD
Doug Pryce, MD
Neil Shah, MD
Craig Walvatne, MD

Zumbro Valley Medical Society Appointees

Peter Amadio, MD
Maya Babu, MD
Robert Grill, MD
Kathryn Lombardo, MD
Kim McKeon, MD
Noel Peterson, MD
Sally Trippel, MD
Jon Van Loon, MD
Tom Witt, MD
Jay Widmer, MD

Lake Superior Medical Society Appointees

Elizabeth Bilden, MD
Christopher Thiessen, MD

Stearns Benton Medical Society Appointees

Stephen Cragle, MD
Kim Tjaden, MD

Range Medical Society Appointee

Michael Baich, MD

Medical Student Section Appointee

Elizabeth Fracica (medical student)

Resident and Fellow Section Appointee

Matthew Kruse, MD

Young Physicians Section Appointee

Meltiady Issa, MD

MMA President-Elect

Dave Agerter, MD

At-Large Board Appointees

Terence Cahill, MD
James Dehen, MD
Dan Heinemann, MD
Ernest Lampe, MD
Steven Meister, MD



October 14, 2015
5:00-8:00 pm at Midland Hills Country Club, Roseville


August 25, 2015
6:00-8:00 pm at MMA


May 20, 2015
5:30-8:00 pm at Midland Hills Country Club, Roseville


January 10, 2015


October 8, 2014


September 20, 2014


August 26, 2014


April 26, 2014


Terms of Office

Each Policy Council member is eligible to serve for a term of three years, beginning at the conclusion of the MMA Annual Meeting. Terms for initial Council appointees shall begin as soon as appointments are completed and end no later than the 2016 MMA Annual Meeting. Terms will be arranged so that, as nearly as possible, one-third of members shall be appointed each year. Each member may serve no more than two complete, consecutive terms. Section members must be eligible members of their section during their term on the Council. No alternate or proxy members shall be appointed to the Council. In the event of a resignation or death, the appointing authority shall be notified and a new appointment shall be made.

Council appointments are the responsibility of the component medical societies, sections or MMA board. Appointing authorities will be encouraged to appoint members who: are able to commit to serving their entire term; will work to attend and prepare for all Council meetings; are actively engaged in medical practice; and can represent the diversity of MMA membership in terms of age, gender, race/ethnicity, geography, specialty and practice size/type.

The term of office of the Policy Council chair shall be one year, with a maximum of three terms.

Council Members on the Board of Trustees

The Council shall elect two members to serve as full-voting members of the MMA board. Council members of the board may be recognized in meeting any geographic membership requirements associated with the board of trustees and shall be counted as part of the total board size. The term of office on the board shall be three years, limited to one term. Physicians who have previously served a maximum nine-year term on the board are not eligible to serve as Council representatives to the board.

Meetings and Member Forums

The Policy Council shall meet no less than two times a year, one of which will be at the MMA Annual Meeting.

The first meeting of the Council, which will be convened by the MMA president-elect, will include electing the group’s chair.

The Council may also convene meetings of Council members and staff for the purpose of planning the structure, content and goals of Policy Council Member Forums. The forums will be structured to: 1) provide foundational education/information on previously-identified issues and/or themes; 2) facilitate input, dialogue and discussion by and among physician attendees; and, 3) allow for the development of recommendations by the members of the Council for consideration by the MMA board of trustees.

Prior to each Policy Council Member Forum, the Council will establish the specific issues and/or themes on which member input, feedback and ideas are needed to guide MMA policy and advocacy activities.  The identified issues and/or themes will be promoted to all Minnesota physicians with a request for the submission of comments and ideas (including resolutions) on the identified issues and/or themes in advance of Policy Council Member Forums. An online mechanism will be established to submit and track submissions. Comments, ideas or resolutions on the identified issues and/or themes submitted by component medical societies, state specialty societies, MMA sections, MMA committees or the MMA board shall be considered by the Policy Council. Staff and members of the Policy Council may review submitted comments, ideas or resolutions to help further organize and refine the Policy Council Member Forums.

Specific time shall be reserved at the Policy Council Member Forum held during the MMA Annual Meeting for the consideration of new issues, ideas or resolutions. A process for soliciting new issues, ideas or resolutions in advance of the Annual Meeting will be established to ensure time for adequate research and planning. Comments, ideas or resolutions submitted by component medical societies, state specialty societies, MMA sections, MMA committees or the MMA Board of Trustees shall be considered by the Policy Council. Staff and members of the Policy Council may review submitted comments, ideas or resolutions to help further organize and refine the Policy Council Member Forums.

For more information

Contact Janet Silversmith, MMA’s director of health policy.

1300 Godward St. NE, Suite 2500, Minneapolis, MN 55413 | Phone: (612) 378-1875 | Fax: (612) 378-3875 | mma@mnmed.org
Copyright 2014 Minnesota Medical Association
Find MMA on:                 
Home |  Membership |  About MMA |  Legislation |  Key Issues |  Publications |  Events and Services |  Site Map |  Contact Us |  Advertising |  Privacy .